top of page


It has been confirmed today by Graham Brady MP of the 1922 Select Committee that Theresa May is now the Prime Minister Elect.

Andrea Leadsom announced her resignation from the leadership contest at 12:15 today. We've already received a large volume of questions on what this means for members and whether there might be a further vote for Conservative members. Ian Brady has confirmed that there will not be a new vote for a new leadership candidate to join Mrs. May on the ballot. Therefore, with much regret and sadness, there will not be a vote and Graham Brady will make a further announcement on how Mrs. Theresa May will succeed David Cameron as Prime Minister.

We wish Theresa May the best of luck during the transition.

Portsmouth North Conservative Association.

bottom of page